Mutations (Reflections on Life)

I’m Back: Did You Miss Me?

Image Courtesy of Dreamstime.com  It’s crazy to think that my last post was sometime in October, but now that I think about it, it makes perfect sense because law school started getting a bit real right around November. So I apologize for the delay, but I’m happy to report that I have officially completed my first semester of law school! So, for the next two weeks at least, I’m free to get back to doing the things I love (like writing, blogging, watching movies, and reading books for pleasure) without experiencing pangs of guilt for not studying something.

As I write this, there’s a Cosby Show marathon on Centric, an A Different World marathon on TVOne, and a Roots marathon on BET, so I’m pretty sure that all three of those networks decided to conspire to give me the best Christmas present ever this weekend. I’m also pretty beside myself with the notion of being able to watch all of them separately and at the same time with no other pressing responsibilities to consider.

On the more intellectual front, as my first non-legalese read in about four months aside from the occasional newspaper or magazine article, I’ve just started reading Zadie Smith’s new book NW. Surprisingly, despite all the great things I’ve heard about her work, this is my first Zadie Smith read, so although I’m enjoying it so far, I’m eager to formulate my own opinions about her work.

I also can’t wait to go see The Central Park Five Documentary, Django Unchained, Les Miserables, and The Hobbit. I know Django and Les Mis haven’t come out yet, but has anyone seen any of the other ones I mentioned yet? If so, what did you guys think?

Of course, the artist in me is eager to get back to my own writing. I’ve experienced so many different emotions over this past semester that are bound to find their way into a poem or two, now that I have a little bit of time. I’ve also had random characters running around in my head, so I may even start working on a short story. As always, depending on how much of that I actually accomplish and like, I may share some of that with you.

As for what the last four months have been like, there are so many things that I could say about this past semester. However, in keeping with this theme of enjoying getting back to being me-me and not just law student me, I will just say that I honestly really enjoy law school. I enjoy what I’m learning. I enjoy learning how to think about concepts and the world in different ways. I think I did a fairly decent job of not letting it completely consume my life and carving out time for myself (even though, as I said, I did have to sacrifice some things, particularly as the semester progressed).

I can say that even more than the information I’ve acquired, I’ve learned a lot about myself. I can honestly see how each stage of my life has been crucial in shaping the person that I am right now and the way that I respond to law school. I can see how 13 years of Catholic school (and especially my middle school) taught me discipline and focus that especially came in handy in law school. I can see how my artistic and performance background led me to actually enjoy the Socratic method of being called on at random. I can see how Howard taught me hustle, self-confidence, pride, and the importance of playing an proactive role in my education and going after the things that I want and need.

Most importantly, not that I didn’t appreciate them before, but I’ve come to really appreciate my support system over these last four months. The phone calls, text messages, g-chats, Skype dates, inspirational emails and everything else from my friends this semester have really kept me going. This was definitely a period of transition, and my friends and family did a great job of listening and just generally doing their part to remind me of who I am and what my purpose is when I needed it.

Anyway, as the smells of Christmas cooking fill my house, I’d like to wish everyone a happy holiday season! I’ve missed this. It feels good to be back and I’ll try not to disappear too often.

Standard

2 thoughts on “I’m Back: Did You Miss Me?

Leave a Reply

